Events

Conference: Rail Deliveries of Mining and Smelting Cargoes in Russia

Date: September 29–30, 2016

International two-day conference “Rail Deliveries of Mining and Smelting Cargoes in Russia” organized by MAXConference, has been concluded in Moscow. This year over 170 delegates from Russia, Kazakhstan, Finland, Germany, Norway, Ukraine, Azerbaijan, Latvia, Belarus, Poland took part in the event.

The conference was opened by Transkom CEO, Eduard Kaplan. He spoke of pioneering experience with systemic logistical integrator – the common center that would unite all participants of the transportation process. Transkom has been implementing the system on Kazakhstani-Russian routes over the present year. ‘The keystone is integrated logistical teams enlisting representatives of all participants of the transportation process (there may be up to 7 or 8 of such players). These representatives are authorized to make decisions in operational administration of the transportation process.’

‘This is the right way, and the correct approach’, — said Alevtina Kirillova, Advisor to the Minister of Transport of Russia, speaking of Transkom experience. In her turn, she shed some light on what is done at the state level for the development of international transport corridors, the creation of Common Transport Area in the Eurasian Economic Union, ‘seamless’ border-crossing and ‘de-bottlenecking’.

Much prominence was given to the development of North-South Transport Corridor. ‘Sanctions have been lifted off Iran, and now it very actively discusses possible foreign-trade contracts, both with Russia and neighboring countries’, — said Mrs Kirillova. The Advisor called the North-South corridor “the land Suez Canal” meaning its strategic importance.

Discussion of the North-South Corridor and partnership with Iran continued on the second day of the conference. A whole session was dedicated to the issue of exports. Development prospects were outlined by the representatives of the railroads of Ukraine and Azerbaijan, as well as the Russian companies InterRail Service, Morstroytechnology, and Russian Steel.

The conversation got fierce once the participants reached the topic of rail car deficit. The situation around the transportation of coal from the Kuznetsk basin was called critical. Evgeny Kuznetsov, Deputy Director General of Sibuglemet, reported the increase of stock coal by two times over the last month. ‘But this is the commodity you simply cannot store much longer, and we are about to face the situation of 2011, when we had to contact the authorities and complain about not being able to sell the coal and, hence, fulfill our social obligations’.

This kind of situation is not a distinctive characteristic of Kuzbass only. Alexander Rodionov, a representative of one of the largest non-metallic holdings of Russia – National Non-Metallic Company, stated, that, due to the lack of rail cars, volume numbers are lagging behind planned ones significantly. Most of the hit is taken by the South-Urals railroad, its plan is only fulfilled at 60%. 

Operation in the conditions of heavy rail car shortages, how these shortages came to be, and how steel companies deal with the transportation of finished products — all of these issues were discussed both during the main sessions and on the sidelines of the conference. In his interview to MAXConference, Vladimir Tarasenko, Head of UGMK-Trans said that their company ‘sometimes barely makes profit engaging railcar fleet, or does not make any profit at all, just to avoid problems with coal transportation. Vladimir Savchuk, Deputy Director of IPEM, noted in his commentary, that rolling stock decommissioning rate will keep exceeding purchasing rate in the next year, and it will result in major problems for other types of freight, not only coal.

Statistics says that over two years about 100 thousand rail cars have been decommissioned, but operators are not eager to buy new fleet, since it is not paying off currently. Another section of the conference was focused on new generation rail cars, their maintenance costs, and state support efficiency. Representatives of Altayvagon, SUEK, UralVagonZavod, and other companies shared their experience.

Presentation on port infrastructure development and sea terminal capacity increase was delivered by our Finnish partners – the port of Kokkola, rating first in Finland in terms of transshipment of mining products. Torbjorn Witting, CEO, stated that Russia is the main strategically important region for the port, and it’s of paramount importance for Kokkola to improve service rate and costs of Russian freight processing. He shared information about the new terminal – by far the only one in Finland – that has rail car dumping system, which can unload up to 15-20 cars hourly, or over 500 cars a day.

We would like to express our gratitude to our partners: TransKom, New Forwarding Company, Rail Commerce, RZD Logistics; all participants of the discussions and speakers from Russian Railways, InterRail Service, Morstroytechnology, Russian Steel, Stena Line, Mechel Trans, RailTrans Logistics, Severstal, the port of Kokkola, Altaivagon, SUEK, UralVagonZavod, Sibuglemet, Federal Freight Company, IPEM, UGMK-Trans, National Non-Metallic company, Ministry of Transport, RUSAL, Vostok-1520, EVRAZ NTMK, Istok Corporation LLC, VRK2, Association of Rail Car Manufacturers, Ukrainian Railways, Azerbaijan Railways, and others.

For more feedback, photos and interviews, please visit us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MAXConference

Conference feedback

Eduard Kaplan: ‘We rate your conference very high, it’s a good communication platform, because people get to meet annually, they know each other very well; it’s all here – brainstorming, experience sharing, listening to other people – you name it. We also had a few important meetings and negotiations, very fruitful ones’.

Alevtina Kirillova: ‘I would like to thank the organizers for giving us the chance to discuss all the problematic issues here. It’s exactly this kind of forums and conferences that let all players of transportation markets get together and outline further cooperation and interaction paths’.

Мероприятия

Конференция: Железнодорожные перевозки горно-металлургических грузов РФ

Дата проведения: 29–30 сентября 2016

В Москве завершила свою работу двухдневная международная конференция «Железнодорожные перевозки горно-металлургических грузов», организованная компанией MAXConference. В этом году в бизнес-форуме приняли участие более 170 делегатов из России, Казахстана, Финляндии, Германии, Норвегии, Украины, Азербайджана, Латвии, Беларуси, Польши.

Открыл конференцию председатель правления компании «Транском» Эдуард Каплан. Он рассказал о новаторском опыте в создании системного логистического интегратора — единого центра, который способен объединить всех участников перевозочного процесса. «Транском» уже внедряет эту систему на казахстанско-российских маршрутах в течение последнего года. «Основа основ – интегрированные логистические команды, куда каждый участник перевозочного процесса — а их в цепочке может быть 7-8 — дает своего представителя, уполномоченного принимать решения при оперативном управлении перевозками».

«Это правильный путь и правильные подходы» — так оценила опыт «Транскома» советник министра транспорта РФ Алевтина Кириллова. Она, в свою очередь, рассказала о том, что делается на государственном уровне для развития международных транспортных коридоров, создания Единого транспортного пространства Евразийского Экономического Союза, «бесшовного» пересечения границ и «расшивки узких мест».

Серьезное внимание уделяется развитию транспортного коридора «Север-Юг». «Сняты санкции с Ирана, и он сейчас проявляет большую активность в обсуждении возможных внешнеторговых сделок и контрактов, как с РФ, так и с соседними странами», — рассказала Кириллова. По стратегической важности советник министра транспорта РФ назвала «Север-Юг» — «сухопутным Суэцким каналом».

Обсуждение коридора «Север-Юг» и партнерства с Ираном продолжилось во второй день конференции. Целая сессия была посвящена экспорту. О перспективах развития рассказали представители железных дорог Украины и Азербайджана, российские компании «ИнтерРейл Сервис», Морстройтехнология и «Русская Сталь».

Острая дискуссия развернулась в зале по поводу дефицита вагонов. Ситуацию с вывозом угля из шахт Кузбасса участники назвали критической. Евгений Кузнецов, заместитель генерального директора компании «Сибуглемет» сообщил, что за последний месяц объем складских запасов вырос вдвое. «Но это товар, который не может долго храниться, дальше мы можем получить то, с чем уже встречались в 2011 году, когда были письма в органы власти, связанные с тем, что мы не можем продать уголь, а соответственно, и выполнить наши социальные обязательства».

Такая ситуация характерна не только для Кузбасса. Представитель одного из крупнейших нерудных холдингов в России – «Национальной нерудной компании» Александр Родионов – заявил, что из-за дефицита вагонов идет существенное невыполнение заявленных планов. В большей степени страдает Южно-Уральская дорога, план выполнен только на 60 процентов.

О том, как работать в условиях жесткого дефицита вагонов, почему он возник и как в этих условиях металлургические предприятия занимаются вывозом готовой продукции – участники говорили не только на заседании, но и на полях конференции. В интервью MAXConference Владимир Тарасенко, генеральный директор УГМК-Транс рассказал, что компания «порой привлекает подвижной состав на грани рентабельности и даже может сработать «в ноль», чтобы не допустить проблем с вывозом угля». Владимир Савчук, заместитель генерального директора ИПЕМ, в своем комментарии отметил, что «темпы выбытия парка, превышающие темпы закупки, сохранятся и в следующем году, и это вызовет еще большие проблемы не только у угля, но и у других видов грузов».

По статистике, выбытие парка за два года составило порядка 100 тысяч вагонов, но операторы не покупают новые вагоны, потому что в настоящий момент они не окупаются. Вагонам нового поколения, их плюсам и минусам, возможным затратам на обслуживание и ремонт, эффективности программы господдержки была посвящена отдельная дискуссия. Своим опытом делились представители Алтайвагона, СУЭК, Уралвагонзавода и других компаний.

Развитию инфраструктуры портов, увеличению перерабатыващих способностей морских терминалов была посвящена презентация наших финских партнеров – порта Коккола, который занимает первое место в Финляндии по обработке и перевалке продукции горнодобывающей отрасли. Исполнительный директор Турбьерн Виттинг заявил, что Россия — это главный стратегический регион для порта, а снижение расходов и скорость обслуживание российских грузов Коккола ставит во главу угла. Он рассказал о новом терминале – пока единственном в Финляндии — с системой опрокидывания железнодорожных вагонов, позволяющей разгружать примерно 15-20 вагонов в час, т.е более 500 вагонов в день.

Мы сердечно благодарим наших партнеров – компании: «ТрансКом», «Новая перевозочная компания» и «Rail Commerce», «РЖД Логистика»;
всех участников дискуссий и спикеров из компаний: РЖД, «ИнтерРейл Сервис», Морстройтехнология, «Русская Сталь», «Stena Line»,Мечел-транс, РейлТрансЛогистика, «Северсталь», порта Коккола, Алтайвагона, СУЭК, Уралвагонзавода, «Сибуглемет», ФГК, ИПЕМ, «УГМК-Транс», «Национальной нерудной компании», Министерства транспорта, РУСАЛ,Восток-1520, ЕВРАЗ НТМК, Istok Corporation LLC, ВРК2, НП «Объединение вагоностроителей», Укрзализныця, Азербайджанские железные дороги, ИнтерРейлСервис и др.

Впечатления от конференции, интервью и фотографии вы найдете на нашей странице в Фейсбуке: https://www.facebook.com/MAXConference Отзывы о конференции: Эдуард Каплан: «Мы очень высоко ценим вашу конференцию, это очень хорошая площадка, потому что люди каждый год встречаются, хорошо друг друга знают, тут же и мозговые штурмы, и мозговые атаки, это и рассказать о своем опыте, и послушать других. Мы также провели несколько важных встреч и переговоров, это очень полезно».

Алевтина Кириллова: «Хочу поблагодарить организаторов за то, что мы можем обсудить здесь все проблемные вопросы. Именно такие форумы и конференции позволяют собраться всем участникам транспортных рынков, наметить пути дальнейшего сотрудничества и взаимодействия».